MEDITATE…On the Simplicity of Life


ImageWe seem to expect for everything to evolve around our lives; we use technology to find ways to push a button to change our course of directions when things do not go our way, or to delete those who do not fit into the of our little world, or to persuade the thoughts of others to become bias, self-centered, or prejudice, to stereotype their minds to believing an untruth, just to gain power and control.  Life really is not meant to be complicated.   As Confucius says: “Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated”.

I have heard many things in my life, but there is one simple saying that stays with me…complexity creates fog, but simplicity clears it.  So true is this saying;  keeping it simple seems so hard for some to understand, to accept, or to humble ourselves to the fact that the basic simplicity of life, is as simple as 1-2-3. It would do us good to take a moment of our day to just meditate on the simplicity of life.

Have you ever thought about the seasons, and how they change from summer, fall, and winter each year, over and over again.  It’s an unerring pattern that dictates their function and purpose.  Why do the birds fly south for the winter? Who tells them when it is time to make their journey, or to return? What about the ants, the bees, the butterflies, and their friends — where, and why do they leave us when it turns cold?

There is a reason for all things.  Nothing is just happenstance.  There are no accidents, because all things are purposed, whether we believe it or not.  As hard as this may be to accept, our pain and suffering is purposed as well, just like the rain is to water the earth, and the sun to give life to all.  These are simple, yet vital things that occurs everyday, yet we so often take them for granted, because we are so wrapped up in ourselves.  We do not take the time to acknowledge anything else, not even the simple things in life, like the involuntary beating of our heart everyday.

I just thought I would take a moment to share with you my thoughts, as I meditate on these simple, yet powerful facts of life.  After all, I am only human, and I have no power of my own.  I am not in control whereby I can change life, the minds of others, or how my body feels.  If I could, I would not have Fibromyalgia, or any other pain; the world would not be suffering of its numerous diseases; and it would be peace on earth, and in the hearts of mankind — for I would make it so.  But, it is  not my purpose, it is not my story.  I am written in this script just as we all are.  I pray that my remaining chapters keep me humble, and grateful for what I do have.

My message to you is: there is beauty and power in simplicity.  Learn how to keep life simple, enjoy, and meditate on that which we do have, and appreciate the simplistic, and effortless breath of life.   Just breathe….now how simple is that?

8 thoughts on “MEDITATE…On the Simplicity of Life

  1. I enjoyed reading this, Barbara…what you write about is very true. One of my favorite guides in life, is “don’t sweat the small stuff, and it’s all small stuff.” (forgot the author) Another, “do unto others, as you would have them do unto you” (the Bible). Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Denise, for some reason I do not remember reading this before. I see that it was posted a year ago! Wow, I view messages and comments at least 2-3 times a month. If I did miss your message, so sorry. Thank you, I am glad u liked it.

Leave a Reply

