FIBROMYALGIA, Muscle Spasms


Okay, so what is this pain that comes out of nowhere when I sometimes bend over or just make a random turn of my body?  It catches me like a muscle spasm and stops me in my tracks.  It hurts so bad for a moment, and then it sometimes just goes away after the initial pain, but other times it lingers around for a couple of days.  Can any of my Fibro friends relate to this experience? 

I conducted a little self research to find out what happens when the muscle spasms, and learned the following:

  • When a muscle contracts, small pouches in the cells release calcium.
  • For the muscle to relax, the cell needs to pump the calcium back into the pouch.
  • When energy is low, the cell can’t perform that job and the muscle stays contracted.

http://chronicfatigue.about.com/b/2010/04/08/muscle-spasms-in-fibromyalgia-chronic-fatigue-syndrome.htm

imagesSince having Fibromyalgia, I have to be careful how quick I move my body, and which way I move it because I can instantly get a crook in my neck, a charlie horse in my leg, or a muscle spasm in my back and shoulder areas. 

I make sure that I try to exercise at least 3 times a week to help prevent stiffness.  I know that staying flexible helps my Fibro pain.  I still cannot quite understand why I get these spasms.  I thought I would share this with my Fibro friends in hopes to get some input.   Thank you all!

 

Leave a Reply

