Fibro Flares!


 

FIBRO-FLARES ARE REAL!

I literally thought I was going to die when I had my first flare!  I did not know what was wrong with me.  My all-over fibro pain is an everyday occurence all over my body, but when a new kid comes on the block in a specific area and start digging into you, as if to let you know it has arrived.….you are in trouble!!   The new kid on the block is Sir FLARE.  Where it came from or why — I had no idea.  All I knew was that it had to leave.  I was in so much pain that I had to go to emergency because I thought I had something more serious.  After hours of tests they concluded it as a Myalgia Flare.  This was the first time I heard of a fibro flare.  

fibro flare picture

When having a flare, your symptoms are increased in intensity and pain, fatigue, digestion issues, and more.  The flares can last for a day or two – to weeks, months, and sometimes years!!  I cannot imagine years.  I could not imagine months, but mine lasted from 3-4 months.  I have had about 6 flares in my lifetime of fibromyalgia.  I was miserable.  I could not think of how it came about…or what did I do to trigger the flares.  

As I began to research fibro flares, I learned that flares can be triggered by the weather, over-exertion, stress, illness, injury, hormones, lack of sleep, traveling and more.  Finally, I realized what may have caused my first flare – which was stress; and I vowed I would not get so stressed out ever again.  

Most of my flares are in my left or right shoulders, and it feels like a severe case of bursitus, tendonitus, and rotater cuff issues.  It hurts so bad that you want to scream!  Other flares I have had were in my neck, back, lower back, and under the shoulder blades feeling like spasms all across your back.  You become afraid to move.  All I could do was lay on heating pads and take baths in epson salt and olive oil.  

Fibromyalgia is no joking matter.  It challenges your life completely.  I recommend that all of us fibro sufferers to take care of ourselves better than what we do.  Do not push ourselves.  Learn how to say no, relax more, and laugh more.  We can beat this, we can manage it and put it into check.  Let’s be more patient with ourselves and not let fibro run our lives!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fibro Flares!

  1. I agree with snowdroplets. I go into a flare at least once a month coinciding with my period, so hormones definitely play a role. Also, weather, pressure changes, stress or exertion in general, etc. It might help to keep a diary of your pain (or just a mental record or a tracking app on your phone) to help you figure out your triggers so you can try to avoid the ones you can.

  2. I can’t imagine a flare for years! How awful. Mine typically last a few days to a few weeks. I’m having one now, probably due mostly to stress. I also am strongly affected by my monthly cycle, weather (barometric pressure changes!), and overdoing it physically. Not a fan of flares, that’s for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

